Pitch Perfect

Overall Rating: 9 out of 10 Based on 29 Reviews

The out-loud musical comedy Pitch Perfect unfolds at Barden University, where would-be deejay Beca (Anna Kendrick) stumbles into The Bellas, an all-girls a cappella group headed up by two seniors who have their eyes on returning to an intercollegiate national competition and besting their long-time rivals, the Trebel Makers.  Along with fellow unlikely recruit Fat Amy (Rebel Wilson), Beca tries to find her way and fit in with the Bellas while still remaining true to herself. Pitch Perfect, rated M.

Check out the trailer at www.pitchperfectmovie.com.au

The map location feature is not available under a Basic Listing

Are you the owner of this Listing?

Upgrading to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Package Listing will enable this feature.

Sort by:
Add Yours

Reviews for Pitch Perfect

  • Avatar

    kaaali rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 30 December 2012 Member since 30 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Pitch Perfect is a great movie for music lovers, comedy lovers and everyone else in between! I could not stop laughing through the whole movie!

    Cons:

    The ending is a a bit predictable but its worth watching the entire thing.

    Overall:

    A must see comedy for all ages. You have to watch 'The Breakfast Club' after if you haven't seen it because it explains a bit.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Katlion rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 21 December 2012 Member since 29 July 2012
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Great music, couldn't stop laughing. Very talented cast.

    Cons:

    The opening scene - not to great if you are feeling a little seedy!!

    Overall:

    Enjoyable for all ages.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Katlion rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 21 December 2012 Member since 29 July 2012
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Great music, couldn't stop laughing. Very talented cast.

    Cons:

    The opening scene - not to great if you are feeling a little seedy!!

    Overall:

    Enjoyable for all ages.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Katlion rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 21 December 2012 Member since 29 July 2012
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Great music, couldn't stop laughing. Very talented cast.

    Cons:

    The opening scene - not to great if you are feeling a little seedy!!

    Overall:

    Enjoyable for all ages.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Katlion rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 21 December 2012 Member since 29 July 2012
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Great music, couldn't stop laughing. Very talented cast.

    Cons:

    The opening scene - not to great if you are feeling a little seedy!!

    Overall:

    Enjoyable for all ages.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Katlion rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 21 December 2012 Member since 29 July 2012
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Great music, couldn't stop laughing. Very talented cast.

    Cons:

    The opening scene - not to great if you are feeling a little seedy!!

    Overall:

    Enjoyable for all ages.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    naturgoddess rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 11 December 2012 Member since 6 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Shocking, captivating and lots of fun! My feet were tapping to the beat of the music. I wanted to get up and dance in the cinema. Great voices!

    Cons:

    It went too quickly. I wanted more!

    Overall:

    Absolutely, side stitching hilarious. I giggled so much that my cheeks were sore!

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    kazzar rated this 10 out of 10

    Written on 7 December 2012 Member since 7 December 2012
    rating-10
    Pros:

    Great music, great cast, Rebel Wilson is hilarious.

    Cons:

    Story was a little predictable, but who really cares - it was still beyond brilliant.

    Overall:

    This is going straight to one of my top 20 movies. Big call I know, but it was fantastic. As someone who was in an acapella group at school this brought back so many memories.

    The cast was great and all of the characters were brilliant!

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    meshellXD rated this 10 out of 10

    Written on 6 December 2012 Member since 6 December 2012
    rating-10
    Pros:

    A great all rounded cast and if you love Rebel Wilson then you definitely love her hilariousness throughout this entire movie.

    It had an awesome mix of the latest his plus a few classic

    Cons:

    nil

    Overall:

    overall i rate this movie a fat 10 for perfect

    this is one of the best movies i have seen in a while

    Any age group can see this movie and get a right laugh out of it

    i would pay to watch it again and again

    an awesome musical comedy worth seeing

    1 person found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Sara-Joy rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 6 December 2012 Member since 6 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Pitch Perfect is hilarious! It has a killer cast and some fantastic songs, I absolutely loved it!

    Cons:

    Nothing, it had everything you could want from this type of movie!

    Overall:

    Pitch Perfect is wonderfully entertaining! Not only was it hilarious and filled with super catchy tunes, it has a great plot and characters that kept the whole audience captivated. I cannot wait to see this movie again and again and would certainly not hesitate to recommend, I loved it!

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Meredit rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 6 December 2012 Member since 6 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Fantastic movie. Humorous, great music and dancing. Would go and see it again and again.

    Cons:

    Nil

    Overall:

    I was lucky to see the preview and I would have to say it is one of the best movies I have seen this year. Will tell everyone to go and see it.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Jimmydean83 rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    What happens when you throw a heap of the latest hits together with an awesome screenplay and stir it up with some hot up and coming actresses? You have one of the biggest surprises of the movie season with the hot new comedy Pitch Perfect.

    Okay the plot goes a little something like this. Becca (the awesome Anna Kendrik. You know Anna, the coolest thing about all the bogus Twilight movies and the awesome Up In the Air) well she is off to college after her dad puts a damper on her dreams of moving to LA to try and get a job as a DJ. With her sassy and moody vibe about her, but also just a bit of a lost soul, we learn that Becca has an ear for music, in other words, she knows how to place two songs and mash them up together to make awesome remixes (watch out David Guetta). On her first day exploring her campus on her activities tour, she stumbles across some very interesting organisations. But as Becca witnesses, singing is the hottest ticket on campus and the leader of the winning all- male group is treated like rock stars. Winning a singing competition is the hottest ticket in college. I know I don’t think it ever looked that way before this movie, but hey its 2012, things might have changed. Anyway, Becca stumbles upon the Bellas, an all- girl group who don’t seem to have woken up to the fact that people know longer want to hear Ace of Base or The Bangles being sung anymore at major competitions. Although not interested, one of the leaders of the group Chloe (Brittany Snow) recognises something in her and sets out determined to win Becca over. (Let’s just say it gives a new meaning to getting caught with your pants down)

    Here the movie introduces us to some of the funniest women you would ever meet at college. There is a sex maniac, an Asian chick (who drew some of the biggest laughs) who barely registers on the sound level, the two sorority girls of The Bellas and perhaps one of the funniest women working today Rebel Wilson as FAT Amy. Yes you read right, FAT AMY. Never has a comedian stolen the laughs away from her co-stars then the excellent Rebel Wilson (and she is Aussie all, so that’s even better). Rebel steals every single scene she is in with her perfect comedy timing and will probably start a few trends (I’m looking at you Mermaid Dancing and Horizontal Running).

    But back to the story, Becca realises to win the national title it’s time to bring the Bellas into 2012 and introduce them into remixing their songs up. Here we witness a team coming together through hilarious circumstances preparing themselves for the competition. Throw in nightly singing battles, a love story and two of the funniest commentators since Dodge ball and you are in for a great ride. Some of you are probably thinking, this sounds all a bit Gleeish for my liking. But before you start running and screaming out of the theatre, “NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!” Not a happy campy singing show, just wait, because all political correctness has been thrown` out the door, for an older audience who laughs in the face of how stupid we have become with political correctness. I mean one of the lead characters is called FAT AMY!!!! So right then you should know what you are in for.

    Will The Bellas succeed in their mission to become champions? Can’t tell you that. But what I can tell you is that Pitch Perfect is nearly almost perfect. It sets out to deliver the laughs hard and fast all the while offering up awesome acting, catchy tunes, a bit of a romance (don’t worry it actually is not cheesy) and a screenplay that packs a punch to your funny bone. If you don’t come out of this movie smiling (and still singing Ace of Base, that part I could have lived without) then really see a doctor, because your funny bone needs to be checked, fixed and inserted again so you can enjoy this awesome flick. Pitch Perfect

    Cons:

    Nothing at all.

    Overall:

    Tickled my funny bone all the way to wanting to see it again.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    melyobbo rated this 10 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-10
    Pros:

    It was acaawesome. Best laugh I've had in along time.

    Cons:

    Laughing so much that I missed the next funny line.

    Overall:

    10/10

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    slw28 rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    What a great movie...Laughed from the start to the end. Ive never laughed so much in a cinema.

    Cons:

    Ending a tad predictable

    Overall:

    Great movie, want to see it again, if you need a good laugh go and see it.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    maya.lu rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Incredibly funny with an amazing soundtrack. Non-stop laughs

    Cons:

    I've now listened to 'I saw the sign' too many times

    Overall:

    Definitely recommend this movie to anyone looking for a good laugh.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Pilly95 rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Singing was inspiring and the characters were perfectly chosen. Rebel Wilson really shone in her portrayal and the humour was just right! I know I'll be singing the songs for days as they were all extremely infectious!

    Cons:

    None!

    Overall:

    Great movie! Captures the audiences' attention from the get-go and carries it for the entire length of the movie. Achieved by light humour, fantastic vocals and likeable characters. Definitely recommended!

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    tiarne_ rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Lots of laughs.. Rebel Wilson in the movie and the singing was good.

    Cons:

    Nothing!

    Overall:

    probably the funniest movie of the year!!

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    LindyReview rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 25 November 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    A great movie if you're into light humour and Glee type performance. There were plenty of laughs for sure.

    Cons:

    Nothing negative to report.

    Overall:

    It's nice to sit down to some light entertainment after a busy day at work. There's nothing more powerful than some laughter to restore the balance of a hectic lifestyle. A great enjoyable movie.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    BrisbaneReviewer rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 3 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Great cast of characters, especially "Fat Amy" and Lilly. Loved the mix up of songs.

    Cons:

    Movie sort of resembles Glee and Bring It On.

    Overall:

    I loved the movie. Will definitely see it again on the big screen.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    katelkemp96 rated this 10 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-10
    Pros:

    I loved the singing and it was so funny, had me in stiches the whole time.

    Cons:

    There was nothting that really stood out to me as being a con.

    Overall:

    I loved this movie, it was very funny it had me laughing so hard the whole time and all the singing had me dancing and singing in my seat. I would recommend this movie to all that want to have a good laugh and sing along.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • chendog_04 rated this 7 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 19 July 2012
    rating-7
    Pros:

    Rebel Wilson made the movie! Was funny and good for some light entertainment

    Cons:

    Not a fan of glee & it was very glee like!

    Overall:

    A good light hearted entertaining movie definately worth a see

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    ozziebeanie rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Good singers, good for a giggle, enjoyed the movie

    Cons:

    Would liked to have seen more Singing, one or two bits over the top

    Overall:

    Enjoyed watching it and had a laugh

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Review MVP rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 9 May 2011
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Rebel Wilson is so funny! Along with the rest of the cast they did so well in making this a great comedy/musical.

    Good musical performances.

    Cons:

    The ending had some different directions that it could have gone instead of the expected one.

    I would have loved to see some more tryouts through the ending credits.

    Overall:

    Pitch Perfect blends the university campus lifestyle with all the cool kids and geeks with so much laughter when Beca (Anna Kendrick) is forced to attend university by her father and persuaded to join the all-girls a cappella group. Before it has you thinking that it is becoming like an episode of Glee, you find yourself in stiches as it makes fun of itself and the characters involved such as Lilly (Hana Mae Lee) who can barely be heard when she speaks and sings, Cynthia Rose (Ester Dean) with her questionable motives and Fat Amy (Rebel Wilson) who steals the show with her one liners and attitude. This movie will give you heaps of funny sequences and one liners you will be telling your friends the next day, as well as some good song remixes that show that the cast did work on their singing skills to put together these performances. This is one that people will be recommending to their friends to go and see.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Review Ninja rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 28 September 2012
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Heaps of laugh out loud moments and Fat Amy (Rebel Wilson) constantly delivers the golden one-liners.

    Cons:

    The leader of the Bellas gets quite annoying after a while. Predictable ending.

    Overall:

    Funny movie! Not surprising that this film will definitely earn Rebel Wilson her credits in comedy! Great light hearted and feel good movie.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Kepi rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 30 June 2011
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Rebel Wilson's humour takes this film to a new level! Great music and a cappella! Like it how the contest commentators told it like it was - added to the humour.

    Cons:

    Predictable storyline and a bit of an abrupt ending.

    Overall:

    I gave this a 9 purely on the basis that any movie that can have you laughing consistently throughout is worth seeing! Rebel Wilson shines in this movie and really makes it with her one-liners but overall each of the cast has their own quirky moments which make you laugh or squirm - in a funny way! Definitely worth the watch!

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    alicat rated this 8 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 20 November 2012
    rating-8
    Pros:

    Rebel Wilson. If you're a fan, you'll become a bigger one after seeing this movie. She is hilarious!

    Cons:

    Predictable ending I guess

    Overall:

    Loved it! I laughed so much I cried. It was great.

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    PasoMaddie rated this 10 out of 10

    Written on 5 December 2012 Member since 5 December 2012
    rating-10
    Pros:

    What a movie! Loved every single moment of it and laughed the whole way through it!

    Cons:

    Not a bad thing at all.

    Overall:

    One of the best movies I have ever seen

    0 people found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    Pip123 rated this 6 out of 10

    Written on 4 December 2012 Member since 4 December 2012
    rating-6
    Pros:

    Rebel was funny, loved the off the cuff comedy made the movie different! Also loved the talent shown in the movie! Was light hearted

    Cons:

    Was similar to other singing movies and dance movies, was slightly annoyed with how much the perfectionist character of the group dragged on how much that she didn't want change! Wanted more singing and more of the individual talents that the girls brought to the group!

    Overall:

    Overall it was a great light hearted movie that I had a giggle in and it also made me want to further my skills as a DJ! That's what you want a movie to do! I also would love to see a lot of these groups in real life!

    1 person found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
  • Avatar

    missymoopooau rated this 9 out of 10

    Written on 4 December 2012 Member since 4 December 2012
    rating-9
    Pros:

    Such a funny movie ! The spotlight fell naturally on Rebel Wilson's character"fat Amy" as a lead seconded only to the superb vocal talents of this diverse cast. Some stella performances vocally and the choreo was awesome. One quick punchy line after another that lead to the cinema audience clapping spontaneously. Double thumbs up for this flick and I'm going again tomorrow night.

    Cons:

    Cliche in the roles of American college life.The Nerds, the jocks, the slut, the Asians etc has been done. Add to this though the quirkiness of the different groups and a huge glob of vomit and my disappointment in the lack of originality soon dissipated.

    Overall:

    Highly recommended for those seeking a joyful, lyrical rom com with a wicked sense of humour and pop culture reference.

    1 person found this Review Helpful.
    Found this helpful?
Fields marked with a * are required

Add Review